2012 Wildman Medal and American Taxation Association Teaching In

September 03, 2012 /

Jean Bedard, professor, and Lynford Graham, visiting professor and executive in residence, Bentley University, received the 2012 Wildman Medal at the recent American Accounting Association (AAA) Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C. Sponsored by the Deloitte Foundation, the awardees were recognized for their research titled “Detection and Severity Classifications of Sarbanes-Oxley Section 404 Internal Control Deficiencies”. The paper was published in the May 2011 issue of The Accounting Review.

“Recognizing educators with the Wildman Medal for their leading edge research and unwavering commitment to advancing the theory and practice of accounting is important to the growth of our profession and its practitioners,” said Shaun Budnik, president of the Deloitte Foundation. “We congratulate this year’s recipients of the Wildman Medal and the ATA Teaching Award as their work exemplifies the innovative thinking and teaching necessary to train the professions next generation of talent.”

The Wildman Medal is named in honor of the late John R. Wildman, a partner of a Deloitte predecessor firm, a professor of accounting at New York University and the first president of the American Association of Accounting Instructors which later became the AAA. In addition to receiving the Wildman Medal, each recipient received a $2,500 honorarium.

The American Taxation Association (ATA) Teaching Innovation Award was also presented during the AAA Annual Meeting at the ATA luncheon. This year, Toby Stock, an associate professor at Ohio University was honored for his submission titled “A Case Study for Teaching and Learning Corporate and Partnership Tax and Financial Accounting Planning and Compliance Concepts.”

Established in 1994, the ATA Teaching Innovation Award is presented annually to tax professors whose innovative teaching techniques encourage critical thinking and enhance the overall learning experience. Professor Stock was presented with a $5,000 award.


Share your opinion

SEO Powered By SEOPressor