PCAOB Announces 43 Scholarship Program Recipients for AY 2012-2013

June 19, 2012 /

The Public Company Accounting Oversight Board has rolled out the list of colleges and universities that will participate in the PCAOB Scholarship Program for the upcoming academic year.

For the 2012-2013 academic year, the PCAOB plans to award 43 merit-based scholarships to students of $10,000 each. This is the Board’s second year granting scholarships.

“I am pleased that this scholarship program allows the PCAOB and the academic community to work together to encourage the best and the brightest students to choose auditing as a career path,” said PCAOB Chairman James R. Doty.

The Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002 provides that funds generated from the collection of monetary penalties imposed by the PCAOB are to be used to fund a merit scholarship program for students in accredited accounting degree programs. The PCAOB Scholarship Program was created to identify eligible students for scholarships and award funds through the students’ educational institutions.

Students may be eligible for PCAOB scholarships if they are enrolled in an accounting degree program at an accredited participating, nominating institution. To qualify, students must do the following:

Be enrolled in a bachelor’s or master’s degree program in accounting
Demonstrate interest and aptitude in accounting and auditing
Demonstrate high ethical standards
Not be a PCAOB employee or a child or spouse of a PCAOB employee

The PCAOB scholarship program is merit-based but educational institutions are encouraged to give consideration to students from populations that have been historically underrepresented in the accounting profession.

The 2012-2013 Academic Year Scholarship Recipient Academic Institutions:

Arizona State University
Auburn University
Bentley University
Bowling Green State University
Colorado Technical University
DeVry University – Midtown Manhattan
Fairleigh Dickinson University-Fordham
Florida International University
Gonzaga University
Grand Valley State University
Illinois State University
James Madison University
McNeese State University
Miami University-Oxford
Northeastern University
Ohio State University
Rider University
Rutgers University-Newark
Saint John’s University
Saint Leo University
San Diego State University
Southern Methodist University
SUNY at Albany
Texas A and M University
Universidad Metropolitana
University of Houston
University of Kansas
University of Massachusetts-Amherst
University of Minnesota-Duluth
University of Missouri-Kansas City
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill
University of Phoenix
University of South Florida
University of Southern Indiana
University of Tennessee-Knoxville
University of Toledo
University of Washington
University of Wisconsin-Superior
University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
Villanova University
Wake Forest University
Winona State University


Comments are closed

SEO Powered By SEOPressor