AICPA Awards $50,000 in Total Scholarships to Ten Students

Jack Humphrey, Regulatory journalist
September 26, 2012 /

The American Institute of CPAs announced ten recipients of the AICPA John L. Carey Scholarship, awarded to students from liberal arts and other non-traditional business backgrounds to pursue graduate accounting degrees and become CPAs.

The 2012-2013 recipients are:

Philip Casey, University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign
Oliver Chase, University of Vermont
Sean Escoffery, University of Texas at Austin
Hannah Franklin, University of Texas at Austin
Rebecca Hu, University of Southern California
Jennifer Millhouse, University of Texas at Austin
Kelsey Short, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Rebecca Stone, Vanderbilt University
Jacob Summerhays, College of William and Mary
Lauren Van Dyke, University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign

Each recipient will receive $5,000 to cover tuition and other educational expenses, funding provided by an endowment of the AICPA Foundation in honor of John L. Carey.

Carey retired from the AICPA in 1969 after a 40-year career with the Institute where he served as administrative vice president, executive director and editor and publisher of the Journal of Accountancy.

Throughout his career, he made it a priority to encourage outstanding students to become CPAs, a passion he continued in retirement as a professor at universities in Georgia and Illinois.

“Education is a journey, not a destination. These deserving students will take lessons from their undergraduate backgrounds and apply them to their graduate accounting studies in a way that will provide a unique perspective which will serve them throughout their professional careers,” said AICPA Foundation President George Krull.

Recipients of the Carey Scholarship were selected by a task force that considered submitted applications, academic transcripts, recommendation letters and personal essays. Applicants are chosen based on academic achievement, leadership and commitment to pursuing a CPA license.

Additionally, applicants must be full-time graduate level students for the upcoming academic year.

The application deadline for the 2013-2014 AICPA John L. Carey Scholarship program is April 1, 2013.


Share your opinion

SEO Powered By SEOPressor