$250,000 in Grants Awarded to 2012 Doctoral Fellowships in Accounting

Michelle Remo, “Big 4″ observer
February 23, 2012 /

Ten top Ph.D. candidates will each receive a $25,000 grant from the Deloitte Foundation’s annual Doctoral Fellowships in Accounting program. Given to top accounting doctoral students who will be pursuing academic careers upon graduation, the award will support the 2012 recipients’ final year of coursework and the subsequent year to complete their doctoral dissertation.

This year’s recipients and the institutions they attend are:

Hamilton Scott Asay, Cornell University
Dirk E. Black, Duke University
Terrence P. Blackburne, University of Pennsylvania
John D. Gallemore, University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill
Bradley E. Hendricks, University of Michigan
Michael Iselin, The Ohio State University
Jeremy D. Michels, University of Colorado – Boulder
Patricia L. Naranjo, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Bryan R. Stikeleather, University of Pittsburgh
Bridget M. Stomberg, University of Texas – Austin

“For nearly 60 years, the Deloitte Foundation has proudly awarded Doctoral Fellowships in Accounting to more than 1,000 Ph.D. candidates,” said Shaun Budnik, president of the Deloitte Foundation.

“Since all of the grantees pursue careers in academia, the program plays a crucial role in ensuring there is a pipeline of highly-skilled, qualified accounting faculty on campuses to educate our profession’s next generation of talent and leaders. I congratulate all of the 2012 grantees.”

Each year, approximately 100 universities are invited to apply for the Fellowship and the accounting faculty nominates the students. A selection committee composed of three eminent accounting educators – Professors Kathryn Kadous of Emory University, Benjamin Ayers of the University of Georgia and Gregory Miller of the University of Michigan – chose this year’s recipients.

“Deloitte Foundation Doctoral Fellowships play a critical role in sustaining the profession by helping very promising Ph.D. candidates complete their dissertations and become accounting professors who will inspire and educate future accountants,” said Professor Kathryn Kadous of Emory University, outgoing member of the Faculty Selection Committee.

“It has been an honor to serve on this committee, as I am confident that this year’s awardees will make a significant impact on campuses across the country.”


Share your opinion

SEO Powered By SEOPressor